• Facebook
  • Twitter









You can contact Roz using the contact form or via her agent:

Diana Beaumont

Marjacq Scripts 

R24 Offices, 103 Kingsway,

London WC2 6QX

+44 (0) 20 7935 9499

Contact Us


Meg lives in the lovely Derbyshire town of Belper, in a made-up street rather like Long Row. She absolutely adores her cat, Hamlet. Meg is a scientist by training and naturally skeptical, but the power of the dark Derbyshire myths and legends often forces her to question her beliefs as she works (obsessively) to solve crimes in the area. Meg isn't very glamorous, and usually has cat hair on her clothes. She struggles with her weight and has a limp so, although she doesn't back away from confrontation, she has to use her brains more than her brawn!



'The Devil's Dice' and 'Dead Man's Daughter' are set mainly in a fictional town of Eldercliffe, which is inspired by Wirksworth, with some bits of Shining Cliff woods added.

In 'The Devil's Dice', Meg also ventures to the Nine Ladies stone circle, and takes a day trip to Cambridge.

In 'Dead Man's Daughter', she visits Bonsall and Flash, the highest village in Britain (in a snow storm!)

'Cut to the Bone' is based mainly in the fictional town of Gritton, which was built to accommodate residents of the villages of Derwent and Ashopton, which were drowned on the creation of Ladybower Reservoir.

The fourth book in the series will be set in Eyam, the 'plague village'.


The village of Eldercliffe, where the murders in the first two books take place and where Meg's mother lives, is based on lovely Wirksworth.

Wirksworth was originally a lead mining town and is stuffed full of fabulous quirky cottages, caves and secret passgeways.

The tiny alleyways that Meg mentions are similar to the Puzzle Gardens.

The quarries are also real, although the woods on the edge of Eldercliffe are based on Shining Cliff woods, which are near Ambergate.



Subscribe to the mailing list for access to offers and freebies!

Subscribe and get this Quick-Read short story. It's the first one I wrote (well, since school anyway!) 


It's mainly from the point of view of a child, although I've edited it slightly to add a little bit of DI Meg Dalton. 

You'll have to read it to find out more...

© Roz Watkins